Thursday 24 April 2014

Scottish Album of The Year

The Scottish Album of The Year (SAY) longlist has been announced. The 20 albums on the list are:

Adam Holmes and The Embers - Heirs and Graces
Adam Stafford - Imaginary Walls Collapse
Biffy Clyro - Opposites
Boards Of Canada - Tomorrow's Harvest
Camera Obscura - Desire Lines
CHVRCHES - The Bones Of What You Believe
Dunedin Consort (Dir. John Butt) - J.S. Bach: Six Brandenburg Concertos
Edwyn Collins - Understated
Frightened Rabbit - Pedestrian Verse
Hector Bizerk - Nobody Seen Nothing
Kid Canaveral - Now That You Are A Dancer
Mogwai - Les Revenants
Rick Redbeard - No Selfish Heart
RM Hubbert - Breaks And Bone
Roddy Hart & The Lonesome Fire - Roddy Heart & The Lonesome Fire
Scottish Chamber Orchestra (R Ticciati) - Berlioz: Les Nuits D'ete
Scottish National Jazz Orchestra -  In The Spirit Of Duke
Steve Mason - Monkey Minds In The Devil's Time
The Pastels - Slow Summits
Young Fathers - Tape Two

The longlist will be promoted through the SAY website (click) for four weeks during which time one of the longlisted albums can be streamed each weekday. A public vote begins on 26 May for 72 hours to allow the public to choose one album to go onto the final shortlist of 10, the other nine being chosen by the judging panel. 

Get listening and then get voting. It's a hugely impressive list that reflects the quality of music coming out of Scotland at the moment. Like I keep saying, we are in the midst of a great period for Scottish music and that's why it's really important to support awards like this and the music scene in general.

SAY Facebook page 
SAY Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment