Friday 15 August 2014


On Everything We Miss, two of Scotland's finest lo-fi singer songwriters Andrew Pearson and Lovers Turn To Monsters (or Kyle Wood as he's known to those who know him) come together to produce an album that is instantly ear catching and simply demands that you listen again, again and again. The album turns on themes of loneliness, despair and love but always remains optimistic, balancing  heart-breaking lyrics with hopelessly romantic lyrics all brought together with some beautifully crafted indie-pop. If you're a fan of Frightened Rabbit's more acoustic moments, Belle and Sebastian, King Creosote and so on then this is for you. Even if that doesn't sound like you, you really should try this album as there are some wonderful moments here that deserve to be heard.

The album's 8 tracks are evenly split between both artists. My own personal favourites are Another Dawn and the brilliantly named My Dad Doesn't Really Like My Interests, I Can Only Imagine What He'd Think Of You, the latter of which has some of the best lyrics I've heard in some time. These favourites will no doubt change however as this album will be getting listened to over and over as I'm now hooked. A couple of listens and you will be too.
The album is released through Common Records and is available on download, limited edition vinyl and cassette from here You can also listen to the album there.

No comments:

Post a Comment