Thursday 10 September 2015


The Soulsvaers and Dave Gahan project The Light The Dead See was a real unexpected treat in the gap between Depeche Mode's Sounds Of The Universe and Delta Machine. Unlike Dave's previous solo work, which I didn't really find to my tastes, The Light The Dead See was a lovely album, filled with gloomy, dark yet uplifting songs that suited Dave's voice perfectly. Today, the now named Dave Gahan and Soulsavers (unlike just Soulsavers last time) have announced their new album Angels & Ghosts which comes out on cd, vinyl and download on 23 October.

The album features nine new tracks:

1. Shine
2. You Owe Me
3. Tempted
4. All Of This And Nothing
5. One Thing
6. Don't Cry
7. Lately
8. The Last Time
9. My Sun

Presumably track 1 isn't a cover of the Depeche track ;). A video for All Of This And Nothing has been released today and you can watch and listen below. I've taken to the track straightaway I must say. Dave is sounding superb which is a great thing in itself.

As well as all this news, Dave Gahan and Soulsavers will be playing a small tour with 6 dates which are:

19 October - The Theatre at Ace Hotel, Los Angeles
22 October - Town Hall, New York
26 October - Shepherd's Bush Empire, London
30 October - Tempodrom, Berlin
2 November - La Cigale, Paris
4 November - Fabrique, Milan

Tickets go on sale on 18 September. The gigs are certainly hugely tempting as the chance to see Dave perform in such small venues (compared to his usual stages at least) is something I really don't want to miss. Hearing both of the Dave and Soulsavers albums live will be pretty cool too.

Finally, Dave is being interviewed on BBC Radio 6 tomorrow, Friday 11 September. I don't know times or what show he'll be on yet but will put that up on Twitter (@davidjmcelroy and @almostprdalmost) when I know.

All in all, this sounds like a really interesting project. And just think - once that's done it'll soon be Depeche Mode time again.....

No comments:

Post a Comment